Mountain Planet Awards

The Mountain Planet trade show awarded its first Mountain Planet Awards during the gala evening held this Wednesday, April 18. The awards reward investments made by operators and ski area managers in mountain resorts in France and all over the world.

THE AWARDS WINNERS FOR THIS VERY FIRST EDITION ARE:

■ FRANCE

 

ALPE D’HUEZ
with the SATA, represented
by his General Manager,
Christophe Monier

VAL THORENS
with the SETAM, represented
by his General Manager,
Jérôme Grellet

GRAND PUY – SEYNE LES ALPES
represented by
his Mayor,
Francis Hermitte

COMPAGNIE DES ALPES,
represented by the
Deputy General Manager,
Agnès Pannier-Runache

■ INTERNATIONAL

NORTHERN CAUCASUS RESORTS,
represented by
his General Manager,
Khasan Timizhev

VANKE GROUP,
represented by the Senior Vice President
of Vanke Group CEO of V-Ski & V-Capital,
Ding Changfeng

■ Investments in French ski resorts
For 2017 in France, the total amount of investments in new installations in ski resorts reached €102.24 million, representing 8.5% of the industry’s turnover (€1.206 billion). The €102.24 million in investments corresponds to 50 new installations built in 2017—which mostly replaced several existing and obsolete installations, therefore reducing the number of towers.

■ Investments in international ski resorts
Globally, the worldwide ski market is in progression. After three years of stagnation and even regression, the total number of skier days in the world has started showing an increase of 4% for the 2016/2017 season.* For the past several years, Central Asia, China and Russia have been taking full advantage of the growing popularity for ski sports. The organization of the Winter Olympic Games is an incredible accelerator to develop winter sports and create new ski areas. It was already the case in 2014 in Russia after the Sochi Olympic Games and we are seeing extreme popularity and investments in China for the coming 2022 Beijing Winter Olympic Games. China has set an objective to put 10% of their 1.38 billion inhabitants on skis by 2022. The ski market is growing fast in China, where 57 new ski resorts were created in 2017.*

*Data: 2017 International Report On Snow and Tourism, Laurent Vanat

Mountain Planet Awards

Le salon Mountain Planet a remis lors de la soirée de gala du mercredi 18 avril les premiers « Mountain Planet Awards », en partenariat avec le Cluster Montagne, qui récompensent l’investissement réalisé par les exploitants et  gestionnaires de domaines skiables dans les stations en montagne, en France et à l’international.

LES LAURÉATS DE CETTE PREMIÈRE ÉDITION SONT :

■ FRANCE

 

ALPE D’HUEZ
avec la SATA, représentée
par son Directeur Général,
Christophe Monier

VAL THORENS
avec la SETAM, représentée
par son Directeur Général,
Jérôme Grellet

GRAND PUY – SEYNE LES ALPES
représentée par
son Maire,
Francis Hermitte

COMPAGNIE DES ALPES,
représentée par sa
Directrice Générale Déléguée,
Agnès Pannier-Runache

■ INTERNATIONAL

 

NORTHERN CAUCASUS RESORTS,
représenté par
son Directeur Général,
Khasan Timizhev

VANKE GROUP,
représenté par le Senior Vice President
of Vanke Group CEO of V-Ski & V-Capital,
Ding Changfeng

■ L’investissement dans les stations de ski en France
Pour 2017 en France, le montant total des investissements en nouvelles installations dans les stations de ski s’élève à 102,24 M€ soit 8,5 % du chiffre d’affaires de la profession (1,206 Mds €). Les 102,24 M € d’investissement correspondent à 50 nouvelles installations construites en 2017, qui sont le plus souvent réalisées en remplacement de plusieurs installations existantes et obsolètes, diminuant ainsi le nombre de pylônes.

■ L’investissement dans les stations de ski à l’international
Globalement, le marché mondial du ski est en progression. Après 3 années de stagnation ou de baisse, le nombre total de journées-skieurs dans le monde affiche maintenant une hausse de 4 % sur l’hiver 2016/17*. Depuis plusieurs années, l’Asie centrale, la Chine et la Russie profitent de l’engouement pour le ski. L’organisation des Jeux Olympiques d’Hiver est un formidable accélérateur pour le développement de la pratique du ski et la construction de nouveaux domaines skiables. C’est déjà le cas depuis 2014 en Russie après les JO de Sotchi et on assiste à un fort engouement et des investissements conséquents en Chine en prévision des prochains Jeux Olympiques d’Hiver de Pékin en 2022. La Chine s’est fixée pour objectif de mettre sur les skis 10 % de ses 1,38 milliard d’habitants d’ici à 2022. Le marché du ski est en plein essor en Chine, où 57 nouvelles stations de ski ont vu le jour en 2017*.

*Source : 2017 International Report On Snow and Tourism, Laurent Vanat